I’m all like… Whoa. Or maybe ‘woohoo’ is better

So, for all you lovely new people (and maybe the old ones. I can’t remember if I mentioned this recently), for Camp Nano, I wrote my first YA novel. I know I recently mentioned that I think YA is my real niche, etcetc (check it here).

I finished it a few days ago and sent it to my dad for him to edit.

He finished it in three days. He said he didn’t want to put it down. (Now I know that parents are supposed to do this, but my dad is a writer as well (find him here) and he doesn’t believe in telling someone that something is good when it’s not. He admits that he’s bias because I am his daughter, but I trust his opinion completely.)

I am in love with this novel, but because it was my first YA novel, I was afraid it wasn’t that great. So when he said this, this was my reaction:

There are some problems with it, of course. What first draft doesn’t have problems? But he liked it! I figured it would take him a few weeks to get through it. Three days, though? Three days?

Obviously, I am very excited about this. I was all tense waiting for his opinion, wanting to call and ask him like every other moment to find out what he thought about it. I am so in love with this manuscript that I think it may have actually hurt to hear that it sucked.

I told him to go through it again and give it another look over and make sure that he caught and commented on everything that needed to be. i also want some more time away from the manuscript so when I go back to it, it’s like looking at it with fresh eyes.

I can’t wait! GAAAHH!!!

I wanted to share with my writerly people. Because it makes me feel AWESOME!

Ok, I think I’m done.

Laters!