Lately I’ve felt this odd feeling. And I don’t really like this odd feeling. It’s the feeling of not writing. And not having that umph to write. It’s a pain, because I know I love writing. Sure, I roleplay with a friend every day, and I suppose that counts as writing, but it’s all one line from one character’s POV. Yeah, I get practice keeping from that person’s view, but it’s not writing. Not real writing. If I were writing paragraph upon paragraph of content for the RP like I used to, then I would count that as really being creative and in depth, but I’m not. It’s literally one sentence at a time. Sometimes a max of like, five sentences.

So the other day I decided I was going to sit down and actually write a story.

Nothing.

No idea for plot, no idea for characters, no idea for anything.

It kinda hurt. It kinda hurt bad.

Well, okay, I should really rephrase what I said above. The RP isn’t the only writing I’ve done. I have been writing small bits and pieces of my novel. A couple hundred words here, a few hundred there. That should count, right? I am writing creatively.

So I’m going to rephrase what I said to I haven’t been writing consistently, and no short stories have come forth from this brain of mine.

Okay, and I did write two stories for contests, one was just over 2,000 words for the Defy the Dark contest and one that was just under 600 words for round 9 of the NPR Three-Minute Story contest. I can’t count those out.

On the side of excuses, I have been working a lot and going to school two days a week as well. So I’m busy doing stuff seven days a week. But I don’t normally work 40 hours a week. And school ends on Wednesday at 1 and I have nothing to do after that but go home. I could write something. Anything! There is time in there between studying and working and school.

Excuses, excuses. Screw the excuses!

Point being, I need to write more. Can’t hone a craft without actually doing it.

What do you do when you haven’t written anything big in a while? What do you do to get yourself out of a slump? How often do you write?

Laters!

One thought on “

  1. I’ve been having the same kind of problem. I WANT to write, but when I sit down, I draw a blank.

    In your case, here’s my theory: you’re doing a lot of costume-making, and even if you’re not creating them from scratch (as in, not making costumes from movie/book characters but wholly original ones), I think maybe a lot of your creative energy is going in that direction. I mean, sure, you’re not making them up whole cloth (pun intended), but you still have to figure a way to do it without Hollywood Blockbuster budgeting—and that takes a lot of creativity.

    What’s the solution? Iono. I’m not about to tell you to stop making costumes cuz I know you enjoy it too much and I wouldn’t tell you to do that anyway. Not this dad! Maybe you need to stop doing it so much or something. Or maybe you’re just going through a period—as I’m sure I am—of recharging your writing batteries. I think every writer has to do that occasionally.

    I know it’s scary. If it wasn’t, you wouldn’t blog about it. But just have faith in yourself, cuz I surely do. You’ve gone through these slumps before, and you’ll no doubt go thorugh them again. Everybody does. What writing you’re doing is good. You’ll ramp back up, just as you’ve done before.

    Have faith in yourself, and don’t be too hard on yourself. Quit being such an overachiever, cuz sometimes that can block your creativity. Sit back, relax, and let it flow. It’ll come again, and then you’ll wonder when to find time to make costumes!

Leave a Reply

